Our Team

As we approach the opening of our brand new school, you’ll see more and more colleagues joining our dedicated team. Check back regularly to meet the adults that will be working with your young people when they join the Houlton family.

Senior Leadership Team

Principal (ADSL)

Principal (ADSL)

Michael McCulley FCCT, FRSA

Mr McCulley is an experienced school leader and educational professional. He is a graduate of Expressive Arts and English from the University of Stirling and trained in Acting (Musical Theatre) at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland in Glasgow. When his career turned towards teaching it began at the prestigious all-through Jordanhill School in Glasgow. He has worked in a variety of high-performing urban and rural contexts, including a life-changing opportunity to work with children in Somerset West and its neighbouring township schools with the Imibala Trust near Cape Town, South Africa. To this day, he credits this humbling experience with being transformational and informing his educational philosophy of ‘equality of opportunity for all’: ‘Education was an emancipation for me; teachers unlocked possibilities and a future I never knew was possible, nor that I deserved. This underpins my aspirations for every child who joins our family at Houlton’.

Mr McCulley also spent some years at the Local Authority as a School Improvement Consultant, at QCA as a Senior National Curriculum Adviser and as a Senior Qualification Development Researcher for the UK Department for Education. An authoritative voice in arts education, he is a founding Fellow of the Chartered College of Teaching and Fellow of the Royal Society of the Arts. Additionally, he has held a variety of voluntary positions of responsibility as Chair of Community and Arts organisations.

Mr McCulley is a strong advocate for the promotion of diversity in education and global citizenship; he has taken groups of students all over the world as part of their co-curricular education, including visits to the Great Wall of China, language immersion visits to Paris and French châteaux and cultural trips to a number of global destinations.

More recently, Mr McCulley has been supporting schools in a variety of challenging circumstances and has delivered the NPQSL qualification to aspiring educational leaders. His current focus is on the launch and development of the Transforming Lives Educational Trust’s brand new flagship academy – Houlton School.

Key responsibilities: Personnel; Curriculum; Teaching and Learning; Quality Assurance; Assessment and Reporting; Public Examinations; School Policy and Strategy; ADSL; AIM Board.

Vice Principal (DSL)

Vice Principal (DSL)

Chloe Buckenham NPQSL

Miss Buckenham is a highly skilled school leader who brings with her a wealth of experience to Houlton. She is a graduate of Law from the University of Warwick, then went on to the prestigious Inns of Court School of Law where she qualified as a Barrister in 2003. She made the decision to transition into teaching in 2006, qualifying with the University of Cambridge having realised her desire to effect change in education and to be a catalyst for young people to realise their true potential. Miss Buckenham has worked in a number of settings and has taken a lead on projects across the secondary sphere that have pioneered lasting change. She is a firm believer in the value of a globally aware curriculum, in positive behaviour management and in Restorative Justice. She is a strong advocate of Student Leadership, encouraging students to have a positive voice across both primary and secondary phases.

Miss Buckenham has travelled extensively and has experience working with schools in Asia and Africa. She has worked with World Class Schools, most recently leading a World Class international accreditation in Uganda, the first of its kind in Africa. Miss Buckenham has led a number of excursions for both staff and students to Uganda and her experiences there have inspired her to help young people in the UK to not only understand the privileges afforded to the western world, but to appreciate and strive to reach their full potential. She is a passionate advocate for the importance of the culture in schools and spoke candidly at the SSAT19 Conference on the importance of a character and culture curriculum; her determination to ensure students are given equal opportunities to succeed is unashamedly relentless.

Miss Buckenham has supported a number of colleagues as a mentor for the NPQSL as well as delivering CPD on a broad range of school leadership stands across a number of settings. She prides herself in her unyielding positivity and has extremely high expectations. Her current focus is working in close partnership with Mr McCulley to develop and launch TLET’s visionary, brand new flagship academy, Houlton School.

Key Responsibilities: Designated Safeguarding Lead; Personal Development and Pupil Conduct; Celebrating Achievement; CIAG; SEND Provision; Educational Visits Coordinator.

Our Houlton Family...

Teaching Family Members:

Miss Chloe Buckenham LL.B [Warw], BVC [ICSL], GTP (QTS) [Cantab], NPQSL [DfE] – Teacher of History & Law (Vice Principal, DSL)
Mr Michael McCulley BA, DipEd (QTS) [Sruighlea], Licentiate [RSAMD], FCCT, FRSA – Teacher of Performing Arts (Principal, ADSL)

Joining us from September 2021…

Mr Jamie Abbott BA, PGCE [Leic], NPQML [DfE] – Subject Team Leader: Humanities
Mr Thomas Baidoo BSc [Cov], PGCE [BCU] – Teacher of Music
Mrs Miranda Barker BA (QTS) [Warw], MA Ed [Open] – Trust SEND Strategic Adviser
Mrs Rebecca Cooper
 BA [Nton], PGCE [Warw] – Head of Faculty: Inclusion (SENDCo, ADSL)
Miss Jasmine Etheridge MSc [Birm], MA, PGCE [Warw] – Head of Faculty: Mathematics & Numeracy (ADSL)
Mr Aaron Griffin BSc [Newc], PGCE [Newman] – Head of Faculty: Science & Computer Science
Miss Abbie Hartfield BSc [Sheff Hallam], TSST [Plym], SCITT (QTS) [Nott] – Teacher of Physical Education & Mathematics
Mr Russell Hill BA [Arts Lond], MA [RCA], PGCE [BCU] – Subject Team Leader: Creative
Mr Matthieu Raffy Licence en LLCE, Master en ALL [Toulon], DELE [Cervantes], PGCE [Oxon] – Subject Team Leader: Modern Languages
Mrs Sian Warde BA [Birm], PGCE [BCU] – Head of Faculty: English & Literacy

Support Family Members:

Mr Ross Cotton – IT & Network Infrastructure
Mr Vijay Mistry – Senior Site Support Officer
Mrs Georgette Weil – Administrative Assistant

Joining us from September 2021…